Main Menu

National Events

16 Feb - 18 Feb 2018
Australian Junior Championships 2018
17 Mar - 18 Mar 2018
2018 HPP Autumn Invitational camp
13 Apr - 15 Apr 2018
DH McKenzie (AFC 1) includes U23 Epee
09 Jun - 11 Jun 2018
2018 Robyn Chaplin (AFC#2)
06 Jul - 09 Jul 2018
2018 HPP Winter Camp
11 Jul - 15 Jul 2018
Australian Cadet and Under 15 Championships

Keep up to date


Like us and Follow us on the Official Australian Fencing Federation Facebook page.


Personal Sponsors

These organisations are directly Sponsoring a Fencer:


Thankyou for your support of the Sport of Fencing in Australia.

The Janet Hopner-Haswell cup was presented by Janet Hopner-Haswell to the Australian fencing Federation in 2004.  The cup is for the annual perpetual competition between the Australian state teams during the Australian Cadet Fencing Championships.  The cup is named in Honor of Janet Haswell.

Janet was NSW Women's Foil Champion, (1962,1963,1964,1972,1975), Australian Women’s Foil Champion, (1962,1963,1964), Bronze Medallist British Empire and Commonwealth Games (1962), Olympic team member and Women's Foil Team Captain at the Tokyo Olympics, (1964) and came 10th Women’s Foil, Inaugural World Master's Games, Toronto Canada 1985.

During her 10 years of coaching, she coached many juniors who between them won approximately thirty school, state and national individual and team championships.  Janet’s first pupils were her two daughters Dione Vosper and Adele Haswell who continued on to have success at State, National and International levels.

In 2001 Janet was awarded Honorary Life Membership, Australian Fencing Federation - “In recognition of an outstanding contribution to Australian Fencing”, and also Honorary Life Membership, NSW Fencing Association Inc. 

Janet Haswell (nee Hopner) has had over 60 years of involvement in fencing from her days of competing to other roles including Coach, Mentor and Sport Psychologist.

Some of Janet’s other contributions to fencing were:

- Club president, Club delegate to N.S.W.A.F and A.F.F.
Public relations, (gala displays, television interviews, demonstrations.
Photographic montages, media liaison, publicity reportage.
Main artwork design and execution of original state wall pennants.
Design artwork for club T-shirt and competition pennants.
Competition Organiser.
Club, State and National Selector (Junior and Senior)
State Junior Style Judge
Sports Psychology (both individual and group)
Ten years coach plus ongoing mentor. 

The winning state’s name will be engraved on a plate fixed for this purpose on the Cup







2016 New South Wales        
2013 New South Wales 2014 New South Wales 2015  New South Wales 
2010 Victoria 2011
Queensland 2012
2007 Western Australia 2008 Victoria 2009 Victoria
2004 New South Wales 2005 New South Wales 2006 Western Australia